Home > Reviews > Review: Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition

Review: Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition

This review is more like a comparison between the 3DS version and the Console version

Title: Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition
System: Nintendo 3DS
Release: February 26, 2011
Developer: CAPCOM
Publisher: CAPCOM

I’m not going to include any “story” section this time. It would take too much time to cover every characters story. but to make a long story short, it’s about an evil guy named Seth, and you need to defeat him. I don’t think that anyone is really that interested in the story of a fighting-game anyway. let’s just start the review.

Gameplay:

Super Street Fighter IV: 3D Edition is a 2D fighting-game from CAPCOM. You can choose between 35 different characters, and you fight against opponents one-on-one. You can choose to play best of 3, 5, or 7 rounds. It’s basically just Super Street Fighter IV in 3D, with some extra modes.

I had a little trouble with the button-placement. It’s kinda hard to play with the D-pad and try hitting the shoulder-buttons to do a heavy kick/punch. but I customized the buttons so that I would feel comfortable, and when I did, I found out that the 3DS version of the game is not far away from the original, Gameplay wise. I could just throw out my combos without trouble, like when I play on my PS3. It’s awesome to know that you can hone your skills while you are on the go.

Sound:

Here comes a little disappointment. There is no Japanese voice options… Yoshinori Ono said that due to limitations of the 3DS game card memory they had to leave out the voice options. I can live with it. The English Voices is not bad. But I prefer the Japanese voices over the English.

I was never a big fan of the remixes in SSFIV. But they sound just like the console version. the sound quality is great.

Graphics:

This is what amazed me the most about the 3DS version. The backgrounds i detailed and nice. But sadly there is no animations like there was in the console version. The characters on the other hand looks AMAZING! They look almost identical to the ones on the PS3/360, and then it’s the 3D… Holy shit. It looks amazing. Sadly I have to turn it of after like 40 minutes because of my eye problems. Damn! I need to check my sight so I can get a pair of glasses.

Verdict:

Overall SSFIV:3D is a great fighting-game. It’s not as good as SSFIV. It just some minor issues that made the console version better. But it differently worth buying, and is the best 3DS game to date.

Pros:

  • The gameplay feels just as good as the console version
  • The Visuals is Amazing
  • Great button-customize options

Cons:

  • No japanese voice options
  • The backgrounds are not animated

Score:

Gameplay: 9.0/10
Sound: 6.0/10
Graphics: 8.5/10

Overall: 8.7/10

Categories: Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

